2018 Subject Selection

Commencing at 7.00pm on Tuesday 27 June, a Subject Selection Information Night will be held for parents / guardians of boys currently in Years 8 – 11. Parents / guardians of boys in Year 8 will have their Information Night at the Mannix Campus. Parents of boys in the remaining levels will gather in the Hall at the Bosco Campus. This Information Night will be supplemented with Year Level Assemblies for the boys which will be held in the last week of Term Two.

Please note that the formal task of selecting subjects using Web Preferences begins on Tuesday 18 July. Web Preferences closes at 4.00pm on Friday 28 July. Our Assistant Principal (School Organisation), Mr Rob Mercer will soon send login details for Web Preferences and some further information about the practicalities of subject selection to each boy’s school email account.

Information about the structure of the curriculum framework and the subjects available for 2018 can be obtained by going to the ‘Learning’ section of the College’s website and choosing ‘Subject Selection.’ The College’s web address is www.live.salesian.vic.edu.au/ Please note that the PowerPoint presentations used at the Year Level Assemblies are posted in this section of the website. Specific advice about tertiary requirements can be obtained from our Pathways Coordinator, Ms Carolyn Ellul. This is a particularly busy time of year for Ms Ellul so please contact her as soon as possible if you have any queries.

Subject Selection Requirements

On a number of occasions throughout Semester One, the requirements for gaining access to particular subjects have been made available to all members of the College community. A copy of this document is also available on the College’s website. Please note that students who have not met the requirements as set out in this document will be blocked from selecting those subjects for 2018. Parents/guardians who feel that compelling circumstances apply are invited to assist their son to complete the Subject Appeal Form which is also located on the College website. For reasons which will be outlined at the Information Night, appeals will certainly not be successful if there is a substantial gap between the student’s achievement and the subject requirement. Any Appeal Forms must be fully completed and returned to the relevant Level Coordinator by 4.00pm on Friday 28 July. Please note that late returns will not be accepted.

Key Dates

Information about 2018 subject offerings Available on website on Friday 23 June
Subject Selection PowerPoints Available on website on Friday 23 June
Subject Appeal Form Available on website on Friday 23 June
Opening date for selecting subjects Tuesday 18 July
Email sent to students containing individual password for online subject selection: Tuesday 18 July
Subject Appeals close: Monday 24 July at 9am
Closing date for selecting subjects: Friday 28 July at 4.00pm

Relevant staff you may wish to contact:

Heads of Department:

Craig Abernethy Head of Department – Technology cabernethy@salesian.vic.edu.au
Irene Apostolopoulos Head of Department – Science iapostolopoulos@salesian.vic.edu.au
Ros Aylward Head of Department – Art raylward@salesian.vic.edu.au
Kamila Bielinski Head of Department – Humanities kbielinski@salesian.vic.edu.au
Trudyanne Blyth Head of Information Services tblyth@salesian.vic.edu.au
Adam Croft Head of Department – Performance acroft@salesian.vic.edu.au
Steven Loonstra Head of Department – ACC Sport sloonstra@salesian.vic.edu.au
Noel McGarry Head of Department – Religious Education nmcgarry@salesian.vic.edu.au
Freda Pahomis Head of Department – Learning Support fpahomis@salesian.vic.edu.au
Steve Sellwood Head of Department – Health & Human Dev ssellwood@salesian.vic.edu.au
Deborah Rabot Head of Department – VCAL drabot@salesian.vic.edu.au
Maryanne Xuereb Head of Department – Performing Arts mxuereb@salesian.vic.edu.au
Darren Winfield Head of Department – Digital Technologies dwinfield@salesian.vic.edu.au
Ivana Ryan Head of Department – LOTE iryan@salesian.vic.edu.au
Chris Pye Head of Department – English cpye@salesian.vic.edu.au

 

Pathways Coordinator:

Carolyn Ellul Pathways Coordinator cellul@salesian.vic.edu.au

 

Year Level Coordinators:

Kim Beurs YLC 12 kbeurs@salesian.vic.edu.au
Romilda Bennett YLC 11 rbennett@salesian.vic.edu.au
Rhea Beurs YLC 10 rbeurs@salesian.vic.edu.au
Ash Simon YLC 9 asimon@salesian.vic.edu.au
Steven Beckham YLC 8 sbeckham@salesian.vic.edu.au
Chris Hayes YLC 7 chayes@salesian.vic.edu.au

 

All of these members of staff are available via email or telephone (9807 2644) to assist you and your son in the important matter of selecting subjects.

If you have any further questions, please contact me at 9807 2644, or via ncarter@salesian.vic.edu.au

All the very best to all families for this very important decision-making period.

Mr Neil Carter
Deputy Principal