ACC Open Badminton Champions

On Wednesday 20 of April, 14 Salesian boys competed in the ACC open badminton tournament with eyes set on the championship flag. Competing against 7 other ACC schools, our young veteran badminton team faced an unprecedented challenge: to do what had not been done before. The first match against St Bernard’s showcased the fact that we are not a perfect team, dropping a game, going 7-1. This was worrying as powerhouse teams such as Whitefriars and Mazenod were able to go 8-0 against St Bernard’s. After a few wins, raising our confidence, we were finally put up against our rivals and perhaps our nemesis, Whitefriars. Whitefriars was a tough opponent, drawing our games 4-4 but thanks to exceptional effort made by the team, we managed to come out on top by 17 points overall. This exceptional win gave the team a morale boost, as we finally stared down the intimidating Mazenod. The final match-up in the championship. But special circumstances are often the mother of exceptional feats, and so it proved on this occasion. Salesian triumphed 5-3 in an exhilarating team performance. We were ACC Open Badminton Champions. It was a proud moment for us, but the accolades belong with Mark Wang as well, for his astute coaching, for his inspiration and for the time he took to craft us into the successful team we are. A word of thanks is also due to Mr Schillachi’s supervision and moral support throughout the final.
MVP Atheish Katheesan, our 3rd seed for singles was able to fly through his matches without dropping a game. In a sense, he was the on-court heart of the team, giving us assurance and durability. The only year 12 team member, Sammy To, was also able to win all of his doubles games with his brother Willie To. It was a display of pronounced redemption and marked out a transformation in his game, from earlier tournaments.

The winning team members are:

Paolo Gomez 11
Sammy To 12
Alen Lay 9
Willie To 10
Jason Ng 10
Kevin Tat 11
Athiesh Katheesan 11
Kylan Puveendran 11
Richardson Luu 10
Erik Tan 11
Patrick Lov 11
Sameer Mohammed 9
Nicholas Lai 11
Hans Montera 11

Nicholas Lai, 11E