ACC Public Speaking Champions

Congratulations are due to our Year 9 and 10 Public Speaking team who competed at Parade on Wednesday 31 July. The boys represented us well, their behaviour, presentation and support of both their team mates and opposing speakers was exemplary.

In the Public Speaking section of the competition, Jake Ionnou, Beau Watson, Sasi Wijewardana and Marcus Sawan received the highest scores across all competing schools in the prepared section (13 points higher than the next team). They performed excellently in the impromptu and were thus awarded ACC Public Speaking champions for 2013.

Our debaters found the going a little tougher however won their final debate which had to be prepared in an hour, (an incredibly difficult feat). The boys who didn’t debate were instrumental in preparing the arguments and acted as great support in each of the debates. Our debaters were: Tom Inglis, Kishon Pawar, Edwin Saravanapavaan, Kyle Hassan, Peter Savat and Patrick Atallah.

I was particularly pleased as some of our competitors were involved in Animal Farm and thus boys were asked to step in at the last minute.

Thank you to Ms Mistry who organised the day and prepared the boys so well. Thank you also to all the debating coaches who coached the boys during the DAV season and to the English teachers who worked on Public Speaking skills in preparation for the McKertich competition.

It will be nice to put the pennant up in pride of place and to acknowledge the boys at our next assembly. We look forward to continuing this excellence later in the year during the junior competition and next year in the DAV Debating and various Public Speaking competitions.

Donna Paatsch
Head of English