Mary McKertich Public Speaking

Thank you to all staff for your support of this very important competition which is becoming an integral part of the English Department and the College. Every student from Years 7 to 11 presented a prepared speech as part of their English classes and the last week saw the best speakers from each class compete to go through to the final. It is a wonderful skill for boys to develop and it was truly a pleasure to witness the confidence with which boys spoke and to listen to the range of ideas that were presented. Thank you to all those who actively supervised, supported the speakers, rang bells, organised impromptus and adjudicated and to those who missed scheduled classes in order for the competition to run. Thank you too, to the English teachers who ran in class competitions. A special thanks to Trudyanne Blyth, Ivana Ryan, Chris Pye, Alicia Bell, Hanna Blizzard and Andrew Schillaci as the overseer for the organisation of the year level competitions. The winners were:

YEAR 7   
Menuka Gunaratne and Matthew Kennedy

YEAR 8   
Callum Morgan and Christian Pansino

YEAR 9       
Jack Robertson and Tibin Thampy

YEAR 10   
Kishon Pawar and Josh Knight

YEAR 11      
Marcus Sawan and Aaron Holt

YEAR 12    
Carl Rodricks and Robert D’Leema

The next phase of the competition is the final which was held on the evening of Tuesday 22 July. The students will compete in a junior, intermediate and senior section of the competition and there will be an overall winner of the perpetual trophy. Results in next fortnight’s e-News.

Donna Paatsch
Head of English