Year 11 Subject Selection Information

Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) Studies

Year 11

Students must study:

  • English Units 1 – 2
  • Religion and Society Unit 1 as part of Oratory
  • Five additional Units 1 – 2 subjects or four Units 1 – 2 subjects and one Units 3 – 4 subject.

Subject Selection Prerequisites

It should be noted that a number of VCE Studies have various subject selection prerequisites. These details are contained in a document located under the ‘Curriculum’ heading on the College website and entitled ‘Subject Selection Prerequisites’

Assessment and Reporting

Outcomes are the basis for satisfactory completion of VCE Units 1 – 4. Each outcome comprises both knowledge and skills. Each VCE Unit includes a set of Outcomes which must be achieved for satisfactory completion of each Unit. All Units 1 and 2 studies also include a range of assessment tasks and an end of semester examination. Students will receive a numerical grade for each of these assessments. The numerical grades will be used to inform parents/guardians and students of the student’s level of achievement on the semester reports.

A student’s level of achievement for all Units 3 and 4 studies will be determined by School Assessed Coursework (SACs) and examination(s). Some studies will also have School Assessed Tasks (SATs). The weighting of the SACs, SATs and examination(s) will vary from study to study. Teachers will provide the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority, with scores representing an assessment of the student’s level of achievement in SACs and SATs. The Units 3 and 4 coursework scores are school based assessments and may change following moderation by the VCAA after VCE examination and General Achievement Test (GAT) results are generated.

VCE/VET Subjects Offered

Religious Education

Oratory (including Religion and Society Unit 1 )

Religion and Society Unit 3 and Unit 4


Literature Units 1-2
Literature Units 3-4
English as an additional language


General Mathematics Units 1-2 (Further)
Specialist Maths Unit 1-2
Mathematical Methods Units 1-2
Further Mathematics Units 3-4


Environmental Science Units 1-2
Biology Units 1-2
Biology Units 3-4
Chemistry Units 1-2
Physics Units 1-2
Psychology Units 1-2


Global Politics Units 1-2
Accounting Units 1-2
Business Management Units 1-2
Economics Units 1-2
20th Century History Units 1-2
History Units 3-4
Legal Studies Units 1-2
Geography Units 1-2

Languages Other Than English

Italian Units 1-2

Technology Studies

Product Design and Technology Units 1-2
Systems Engineering Units 1-2 

Digital Technologies

Creative and Digital Media Units 1-2
Computing Units 1-2


Studio Arts Units 1-2
Media Studies
VCD Unit 1-2

Performing Arts

Music Performance Units 1-2
Theatre Studies Units 1-2

Human Development

Health and Human Development Units 1-2
Health and Human Development Units 3-4
Physical Education Units 1-2

The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL)

What is the VCAL?

The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning is a hands-on option for students in Year 11. The VCAL gives practical work-related experience, as well as literacy and numeracy skills and the opportunity to build personal skills that are important for life and work. Like the VCE, it is a recognised qualification.

The VCE is widely used by students as a pathway to university. Students who undertake the VCAL are more likely to be interested in going on to training at TAFE, doing an apprenticeship, or getting a job after completing secondary school. The VCAL DOES NOT qualify students for entry into university. If you complete a VCAL course you DO NOT obtain an ATAR score. The VCAL’s flexibility enables you to study a program that suits your interests and learning needs. Fully accredited modules and units are selected from five compulsory strands, as per the table, on the next page.

Why choose the VCAL?

If you do not believe that university study is for you, the VCAL may be the right option to choose. If you have a strong interest in the practical side of things and you are seriously considering taking up an apprenticeship in the future, this is the course of study best suited to you.

How long will it take to complete the VCAL?

In 2015, Salesian College will be offering the VCAL at the Intermediate level in Year 11. In 2016, the College will offer VCAL at Senior level in Year 12.

Are there any entry requirements?

All students wishing to access Intermediate VCAL must have successfully completed Year 10. Students wishing to access Senior VCAL must have successfully completed Intermediate VCAL or, alternatively, have successfully completed VCE studies at Year 11 level.

What do students get after completing the VCAL?

Students will receive a VCAL Certificate at each Award level and a Statement of Results, listing all the VCE, VET and VCAL units completed. Students will also receive a Statement of Attainment for the VET program undertaken.

How is VCAL assessed?

You must successfully achieve each Learning Outcome in each module or unit of your program. VCE and VET courses are assessed in accordance with existing requirements. The VCAL units are competency based. You ‘pass’, once you are deemed competent in that unit of work.

What are my options once I have completed the VCAL?

The VCAL will give practical work-related experience and a qualification that will be recognised by TAFE institutions and employers. Together these will allow the transition from school into work, an apprenticeship and/or further training at TAFE.

What will the VCAL cost?

Since VET programs at TAFE can be costly, there will be a reduction in school fees for VCAL students but the full cost of the TAFE program is to be covered by the student’s family.

The Structure of VCAL:

The following table gives a short explanation of the major areas studied in VCAL and where or when that study takes place.